Popa Crowned Champions


Township Rollers were on Saturday officially crowned the 2018-19 BTC Premiership champions after ending the season top of the log on 68 points.

The Blues drew 0-0 with Police XI in a low key match, with took the single point taking Blues’ season tally to 68, as Popa ended the season with a ninth consecutive clean sheet.

Joel Mogorosi missed a 26th minute penalty on an afternoon of few chances.

Rollers got the new BTC Premiership trophy plus 1.3 million prize money.


Rodolfo Zapata made a single change to the starting line up from the previous official match against BDF XI in the Orange FA Cup.

Maano Ditshupo returned from suspension to start, while Lemponye Tshireletso dropped to the bench.

Lineup: Kgosipula, Sikele, Gaolaolwe, Nato, Ditlhokwe, Ditshupo, Orebonye, Cooper, Boy (Tshireletso 58, Motlhabankwe 75), Moyana, Mogorosi


There was very little spark in a first half of few chances; the two teams winding down a season where they had done well.

Police had an early chance go begging, before fans endured little goalmouth action in the first 24 minutes.

In the 25th minute Police goalkeeper Lesego Bosekeng saved a close range Maano Ditshupo shot, and moments later Rollers had a penalty after

Motsholetsi Sikele displayed some skill in advancing to the right side of the Police 18 yard box, then hit a shot punched into the air by Bosekeng, moving agonisingly across goal.

On a couple of occasions, Segolame Boy was indecisive while entering the box.

Galabgwe Moyana reacted quickly to track back and disturb a dangerous Police counter attack.

On the other end Moyana shot over the bar during a Popa attacking move.

A lacklustre first half ended goalless.

In the second half the pace of the match picked up slightly and there were a few chances on either end of the pitch.

Lemponye Tshireletso came on for Boy in the 58th minute, but was injured and stretched out of the pitch with a groin injury to his left foot.

Tshepo Motlhabankwe was cheered by the crowd as he entered the pitch in the 75th minute coming on for Tshireletso who was sent to hospital by ambulance.

Motlhabankwe, possibly playing his final match, showed a couple of neat touches.

The match ended goalless, and after the match the Blues got their dues, crowned champions for a fourth successive time.

Copyright 2019 The Official Township Rollers FC Website. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.rollersfc.com as the source

One Comment

  1. Thanks Almighty God for our Team being num one for the fourth time .congrets Team Blue Train .get ready for the next season and be num one for the fifth time and get ready for African Teams and goodluck forF A Cup God be with us for this cup Shapaaaa popaaaa shapa! more especial Orapa United!Tshireeee get well soon we need you dearly during coming games may God be with you Si!

Leave a Reply

Our Esteemed Sponsors